top of page

Local rapper ‘Novacain’ pushing positive vibes, public service


Photo by Evansville Courier & Press

Mario Nelson's vision began to fade when he was 17 after poorly prescribed medication began to eat away at the nerves in his eyes.

He was completely blind by age 18.

"There was a hole there because basketball got taken from me," he said. "There was nothing there to fill that void."

He lost the ability to play his favorite sports and see the faces of his loved ones. But he discovered something new.

Delving into the music world, Nelson molded a new life for himself — and with it a new identity as "Novacain," a hip hop artist with a positive message and desire for public service.

The Evansville artist will perform at a spring break-themed concert March 19 at The Hobo Jungle alongside reality star host Natalie Nunn from the TV show "Bad Girls Club."

Blindness wasn't the only hardship Nelson endured. When he was 18, his stepfather died. Four years later, so did his mother.

"Before (I went blind), I couldn't do any kind of rapping or anything," he said. "But after that, I guess (blindness) just helped me focus more and music became my outlet."

The aspiring rapper said he started off rapping about "dumb stuff" but found his path.

"I started learning how to write in my head when I was 21. I started rapping more positive stuff, and I wanted to stand for something more than what hip hop was at the time," he said.

Nelson said his music features the same vibe as typical hip hop music, but contains no profanity and focuses on substance.

"I felt that hip hop was at a state where there was too much negativity in it, and I saw it going where it is today back then," he said. "I really wanted to keep the essence of real hip hop alive."

He said he was inspired by artists such as Will Smith and Rakim, who are "100-percent clean."

"(Music) gives me something to hold on to and gets me through the day. It allows me to be a role model to other young, blind adults and the blind youth," he said. "It puts me in a position to be able to do something with my life — being blind — instead of feeling sorry for myself."

Nelson was raised in Fredericksburg, Virginia, and started professionally recording at 21.

While pursuing his career, he bounced around to several cities, including Atlanta, working with different producers until he came to Evansville about four years ago.

As a blind man in the shark-infested waters of the music industry, Nelson had a rough time finding people who wouldn't take advantage of him.

"I have met a lot of managers that just want to take what they can get because they know I am blind," he said.

Nelson said when selling merchandise, not all of the money would be returned to him or people would lie and say he made less than he did.

"It's stressful, but I get over it. Because I am just on my own," he said. "I just make sure that I don't allow it to break me down. I just keep pushing."

Nelson now does whatever he can to bring awareness to the blind community. He said many blind individuals end up working factory jobs but he wants them to look at him and see that it's possible to chase big dreams.

"Blindness is a culture and not a disability," he said.

Nelson has done several benefit concerts to raise money for two local boys with cancer. He will also perform at an upcoming charity benefit for Fabulous After 30 Evansville.

"Everybody needs to give back, and I truly believe we really need to get back into the spirit of music healing instead of causing trouble," he said.

Local reggae artist Zion Albert first heard from Nelson after putting ads up to promote his production company. Nelson called and requested studio time. Albert said he had no clue Nelson was blind.

When Nelson showed up to the studio with his cousin, Albert noticed the rapper's hand on his cousin's shoulder.

"I was surprised because he sounded pretty young, and I do have blindness in my family, but

I'm used to seeing older people being blind," Albert said.

Albert said Nelson possesses ambition and talent and, as his executive producer, said he has learned a lot from Nelson.

"I think dealing with his illness is very challenging. For somebody like him to memorize the lyrics and come into the studio and recording, sometimes only doing two takes and he's got it, that tells me that he really practices his craft and is really determined," Albert said.

Albert founded his studio, Lion Roots Productions, in 2006.

"I have never really worked with an artist that has been determined. Most artists, they come and they just want to sing but they don't really want to take it further. He wants to take it further," Albert said. "But, most of all, he does want to do a lot for the community here in Evansville."

Albert watched Nelson's music evolve on a spiritual level, aiming to influence youth positively and discuss global issues.

"I would say his music is really conscious hip hop," he said. "His spirituality has really grown since he's been here, and he has really grown as a human being."

Many of his struggles are detailed in his latest song "Life of a Blind Guy," which is now available online at novacain.net.

"My motto is just — I know it's cocky — being blind ain't easy," he said. "But I make it look easy."


Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page